Fancy Bread

Last year sometime, I found a website titled “The Kid Should See This”. It is a collection, being added to all the time, of YouTube and Vimeo videos on all different topics. The videos are not created for children, but are very interesting for children (and adults!). I signed up for their weekly newsletter, consisting of links to five or six videos each week. Once or twice a week, when everyone is done with the morning’s school, plus science, by 1:00, and Esther doesn’t have to go back to work right after lunch we’ll watch several while we eat. This week, one of the ones we watched was about braiding bread. The woman who did the video demonstrated braiding with 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9 strands! We were all fascinated all the way through. Since then, Mr. Intellectual, who loves to cook, has tried his hand at a 3-strand loaf. I made bread today, and decided to make one braided loaf. At first, I tried six strands, but couldn’t remember for sure how. Rather than watch it again, I just did a 5-strand loaf. It turned out nice!

IMG_1325IMG_1326

Here is the video we watched. Mom, you would love this.

About NZ Filbruns

A home-school family living in New Zealand, with a desire to share what Christ has done for us.
This entry was posted in Activities at Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fancy Bread

  1. dayuntoday says:

    Oh, dear. I must go find that website. I really need something to fill up my time… 😉

  2. drvandezande says:

    Wow! And then there are all those tempting bunny rails. One was a Hebrew site, apparently one Ashley showed me a while ago about shaping loaves and rolls… and one about coconut bread… This is why I don’t have internet at home.

  3. Sloan says:

    I’ve always loved the look of braided bread and always been terrible at the braiding…which is a shame because I love a good challah. I think I’ll have to bookmark that video… 🙂

  4. Reblogged this on Teacher and Woman of God and commented:
    I love this. It will be a lesson for my kids to do.

  5. Love the idea and the video you have. I will certainly try this with the kids. God bless

Leave a Reply

